Finally — the rewrite for The Purloined Boy is done!


After more than a year of work, it is finally finished.

It has been a busy year and I’ve neglected this blog. I’m sorry about that. I’ve occasionally visited the site and I’ve noticed that there are several faithful fans who have been visiting on a regular basis. I’ve gotten several e-mails asking about the progress. Well, the book is finally ready to send off to the editor!

Last summer I spent two days with a well known editor and agent. He’d read the book and he made several very incisive suggestions for improving it. I was pleased with our time together, but I was also discouraged. Taking his advice would mean a total rewrite.

After thinking about it for a week I came to agree with nearly all his criticisms. Later that month I set to work. I’m very happy with the results. Trevor and Maggie are both richer characters (several chapters are told from Maggie’s point of view now). The original story has been broken into two and I’ll probably get started on the second book after the beginning of the new year.

Right now the book is being reviewed by my editor/agent friend. After discussing the new book with him I envision that the manuscript will be off to the editor in August. After that it is probably 4-6 months away from appearing on bookshelves. Sorry about that — the world of book publishing is very slow.

I’ll be blogging more frequently about the progress of the book. I’ve got some exciting things in the works for the promotion of the book. I’ll be in touch about those things!

Morty

Explore posts in the same categories: The Quest for the Fey Brand

Leave a Reply

